What I eat in a day as a normal vegan person – Birthday Weekend Edition

My birthday fell on a Friday this year, so instead of showing you my boring oatmeal/work day food (though I did have a delicious döner from What the Pitta for dinner) I decided to show the start of my birthday weekend! 

I got up early (7am on a Saturday, early) to get ready and head out to Epping Forest for a hike with my husband and pup, so there wasn’t time for anything more than a pint of lemon water and a cup of tea. Though I did mange to pack a little breakfast for our hike.

Breakfast

I had 2 rice cakes with peanut butter and an apple spice muffin that went slightly wrong in baking. It wasn’t anything special but it hit the spot and fuelled our 10km journey.

If you live in East London and want to escape the city, I really recommend checking out Epping Forest. It is a 25 minute drive from Bow or the central line goes to Theydon Boise which is where we parked our car anyways. Last time we went we came across a deer sanctuary! We took a wrong turn somewhere along  the way this time and missed it. 

Lunch

The hike took us a good few hours and we ended up back home around 1pm and I was pretty hungry. Lucky for me, my mum sent me a birthday package from Canada which included my favourite boxed vegan mac n cheese. I had that with some ketchup and snacked on these little kale puff delights. I know so healthy.

Afternoon Snack

bday6

I had a pretty lazy afternoon, I mostly drank tea, watched Fantastic Beasts and where to find them and continued my health journey with some treats from Ms. Cupcake. My husband brought home an assortment, we had, apple spice, chocolate chai, carrot walnut and one that tasted just like a Ferrero Roche. They were all incredible. 

We headed out in the evening with the intention of going for dinner then to check out a hotel bar in Kings Cross Station that apparently has Harry Potter themed cocktails but we got slightly distracted with a cute pub on the way to dinner and ended up getting to Itadaki Zen only half an hour before closing time. oops.

Dinner

I really love this cozy, all vegan Japanese spot in Kings Cross, and tend to save it for special occasions. I ordered the tempura set menu which comes with a first course of an assortment of gomae, pickled veg, some tasty peanut things and a few other bits. Then came the sushi course, then the vegetable tempura and then finally a choice of dessert, which was not a hard decision for me at all because I love sesame pudding! I have never seen it anywhere else so I always get it when I am here.

I thought I had taken photos of all the courses but to be honest I was a few glasses of wine in at this point, so just the sushi course and the insanely delicious sesame pudding will have to do.

I think I did pretty well for myself, though those Harry Potter cocktails would have been the icing on my birthday food cake! Oh well, now I have an excuse to go out for cocktails soon!

8 thoughts on “What I eat in a day as a normal vegan person – Birthday Weekend Edition

Add yours

  1. Aw looks lovely! Glad you had a lovely birthday! Harry Potter cocktails sound perfect, I actually work around Kings Cross – let’s go in the new year!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑